UbuntuNet Alliance to elect new Chairperson, Board of Trustees

A dawn of new top management leadership is on the horizon for the UbuntuNet Alliance which has now launched a hunt for a new Chairperson and new members of Board of Trustees following the impending end of term of offices for incumbent Chairperson and members of the Board of Trustees.

UbuntuNet Alliance announced the appointment of current Chairperson Prof. John Ssebuwufu on 1st November 2013 and the following the end of the three year term for the former Makerere University Vice Chancellor, the Alliance has, ii partnership with the Association of African Universities, commenced the process for the search of Prof. Ssebuwufu’s successor.

As NREN members will be sending their nominated candidates for the post of the Chairperson, they will also be sending names of their nominated candidates for members of the Board of Trustees as the Alliance looks to elect new Trustees at the forthcoming Annual General Meeting of Members (AGM) scheduled to take place on Friday, 21st April 2017 in Livingstone, Zambia.

The Alliance Board of Trustees consists of nine people of whom, two- the Chairperson and the CEO, are ex-officio members. The AGM appoints seven members of the Board while the Chairperson is appointed through a process overseen by the Association of African University (AAU).

Currently the members of the Board of Trustees, elected at the 9th Annual General Meeting of Members held in Lilongwe, Malawi on 27th March 2015 are; Prof. John Ssebuwufu (Chairperson), Dr. Iman Abuel Maaly Abdelrahman (Vice Chairperson), Prof. Hellicy Ngambi (Chairperson of the ZAMREN Board) Duncan Greaves (CEO, TENET), Prof. Meoli Kashorda, (CEO, KENET), Prof. Dibungi Kalenda (CEO, Eb@le), Josephine Nyiranzeyimana of RwEdNet and Prof, Raft Razafindrakoto of the National Research and Education Network of Madagascar, iRENALA.

Each of the Trustees is eligible to be elected for another term of office.

Leave a Comment

UbuntuNet-Connect2024 Early Bird-Registration Open